Our Mission

Who We Are

Earth science is a STEM discipline that examines the whole Earth as a unified natural system that exchanges solid, liquid, gaseous, organic, and human components. Earth science expertise provides the context --in time and space-- for meeting the economic, environmental, health, and safety, and other global challenges of our time, now that humans have become the dominant geologic agency operating on the planetary surface during the Anthropocene Epoch.

The mission of the Department of Earth Sciences is to provide quality instructional programs and research opportunities at the graduate and undergraduate levels, and to support scientific research and scholarly engagement that advances our understanding of earth system processes and makes that understanding useful to society.

UConn Skyline

Earth Sciences at UConn

The main campus of the University of Connecticut is located in the rural, forested, and rolling highlands of Mansfield, Connecticut. Regional campuses are located on the state's saltwater shore at Avery Point and Stamford, in its central capitol city of Hartford, and in its western interior at Waterbury.

The story of earth science at UConn began in 1698 when an English farmer named Samuel Storrs chose this place for its rich glacial soil.  His descendants donated the land to found as a state agricultural school in 1884. It became the state's flagship university in 1939 with a commitment to basic and applied science and the liberal arts.  These efforts were re-focused and strengthened in July 2019 with the creation of its new Department of Earth Science, a.k.a. Earth and Environmental Science, a.k.a. Earth System Science.  Located within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, we provide undergraduate and graduate education, career training, scientific research, and service to the state, nation, and world on behalf of the University.